Favourite Websites · Handmade Seller Interviews

Handmade Seller Interview: GladOArt

Gladoart hedgehog

This week’s interview is with Ukraine-based Olga from GladOArt who creates gorgeous needle-felted animals and art dolls. They’re so beautiful and detailed…I especially love the characterful hedgehogs!

I’ll now ask Olga a few questions about her life and her craft:

How did you get started in your handmade business?

From the first time I saw author’s dolls*, I fell in love with them. I could admire them for a long time, considering the smallest details. After that, I had a desire to create something similar.
Since my childhood, I have enjoyed drawing, as well as moulding figures of animals from plasticine. Currently, (besides creating felt toys) I really love painting… particularly portraits of people and pets.

*Art dolls originating in Eastern Europe.

Gladoart rabbit

How many different places do you sell from?

My felt toy shop has been open since 2012. Besides that, I own:
A watercolor painting shop – www.etsy.com/shop/GladOArtPainting
And a Wedding Cake Topper shop – www.etsy.com/shop/GladOArtWedding

What handmade possessions do you most cherish?

Any products that are made by hand, and therefore have the heart and soul of the maker in them, are so individual and unique and so have a great value to them.

Gladoart baby doll

In ten years, where would you like to be?

In 10 years, I would like to be what I am now – an artist.

If you had to recommend one movie, which perhaps isn’t so well known, which one would it be?

I love movies based on real events such as “Ms. Potter” and “Big eyes”.

Do you have any pets?

I have had pets since childhood. At the moment I have a 9-year-old cat, Timofey, and a 15-year-old overland turtle.

Apart fom crafts, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I participate in sports in my free time, particularly skating because it is a sport where striving for perfection is a continuous process.

Gladoart owl

What was been your favourite holiday?

The best holidays for me are my child’s birthdays.

If you could have one super power, what would it be and why?

If I could choose a super ability for myself, it would be the ability to cure children. It’s very painful to watch their suffering.

What are your hopes and aspirations for your store and where do you see yourself going from here?

I want to try new embroidery artworks, particularly embroidered portraits; portraiture is my weakness and my inspiration.

Gladoart blue tit

And Olga is offering a special 15% off discount code for readers too!

Just enter the code T457HER to receive the discount.

If you would like to sign up to the GladOArt newsletter, in order to receive news of sales and other offers, please subscribe using this link:

eepurl.com/c3NJqL

Leave a comment